PDA

View Full Version : Need Immediate assistance with recovering data???ASAP plz!!!

Detonator
02-03-2005, 07:15 AM
Hi i'm currently trying to repair a HP laptop, basically i keep on getting this phisical memory dump error. first i tried adding more memory but that wasnt the case. though i get to the Window's XP Home Edition boot screen. b4 it loads it just gives me the Blue Screen .....gotta love windows...... anyways right now i've tried using partition magic 8 recovery floppy disks(2) to see if there was anything wrong w/ the partition. turns out that there are cluster errors & one more error. sadly partition magic doesnt give me the option of fixing it. Right now i'm quite in a bit of a jam. the information that i've got on this machine is VERY IMPORTANT!!!! though i'm quite new to linux, i've used knoppix once or twice. i was reading one of the key features being "utilities for data recovery and system repairs, even for other operating systems"...how would i be able to do this using knoppix....plz the faster i'd be able to get this the sooner my arse will be saved. thx

Harry Kuhman
02-03-2005, 08:04 AM
...how would i be able to do this using knoppix....
Many times Windows wil not boot or access a partition, but Knoppix may have no problem opening the partition and reading files from it. Of course, you could have managed to ruin the partition beyond what Knoppix will normally open (in which case there are still other tools).

Your first step would be to boot Knoppix on the system and see if it can read the disk and access the files. Knoppix should never be used to write to an NTFS partition, but it can read the partition just fine. If you find that you can open the partition with Knoppix then you should be able to recover what you need from the Windows partitions. You could send the files you recover across a network, store them on the Internet, put them on a USB flash device, or burn them to a CD or DVD.