PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix or Mepis

Xword
02-05-2005, 03:14 PM
I am new to linux and had read many reviews/mag/news/articles/website/forum to get as much info as I can.

Many claims that Mepis is better than Knoppix etc... but I seems to prefer Knoppix after a few days of trying.

One thing that I feel Mepis is "better" is that it has an install option that allows simple installation. Any idea why Knoppix does not have this feature?

From this forum, seems like many wanted to install but having problems and this feature should be able to help a lot of people.

Just a suggestion :-)

eon
02-07-2005, 08:51 PM
http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16880

How much simpler could it be?

Having said that mepis is designed for installation.
But if you can create a partition or learn how, and your
hardware is recognized you should be able to install
knoppix in about 15 minutes.

foamrotreturns
02-07-2005, 09:37 PM
http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16880

How much simpler could it be?

Having said that mepis is designed for installation.
But if you can create a partition or learn how, and your
hardware is recognized you should be able to install
knoppix in about 15 minutes.
Well said! The partitioning part is about the hardest thing in the knoppix install. But learning the ins and outs of HDD partitioning is essential to linux anyway, and if you can't partition a HDD, you probably have no business installing Linux on your HDD in the first place. ;)

markb
02-08-2005, 12:03 AM
I've played with Knoppix, Kanotix, and Mepis a lot. Knoppix is tailored as a live CD. I really think that if you want to install to disk then you are better off using Mepis or Kanotix because they are tailored for that. In particular, once you install to disk then you will frequently want to apt-get update etc. Mepis and Kanotix are much more amenable to updating from the Debian repositories and will not break as easily as Knoppix.

Xword
02-08-2005, 01:03 AM