PDA

View Full Version : Is this a Bug?

beetm
02-06-2005, 03:35 PM
I'm a complete noob who wanted to take a look at Linux through the Knoppix CD, but there's an issue with screen resolution that is killing my enthusiasm fast. (and no doubt, others in a similar situation).

It's reasonably well known, if you google, it comes up a couple of times here and other places too.. To cut along story short, if it doesn't recognize your graphics card (onboard) it defaults to a resolution which the cheat codes can't defeat.

Is this a known bug? (By the developer). Will it be fixed?

eon
02-06-2005, 04:07 PM
If you provide your hardware details, including video card maybe someone here
will have a "fix" so that you can get knoppix running correctly and check it out.
(also the error or boot messages you get while booting knoppix would be useful too.)

You could also try kanotix http://kanotix.com/files/kanotix/ which may have
better hardware recognition.

beetm
02-06-2005, 11:01 PM
OK, I've got a Dell P4 3GHZ HT, 1GB DDR, Intel "onboard" graphics (not a gaming machine), Dell's 17" standard Monitor.

When booting from CD the only option is 640x480, using "Cheats" (screen=1024x768) the screen resolves to the requested res, then reverts back after reading the card as vesa during the boot process. Can't edit the files (cfg?) on the CD.

If you read the forums here (and at Kanotix) you'll see that this problem (or very close variants) is pretty common, I was just asking if a fix was in the works or not. (It doesn't recognize many cards, especially "onboard" cards) It's no big deal other than giving a poor first impression for noobs like me trying Linux for the first time

eon
02-07-2005, 05:44 AM
Using the cheat codes gives you a chance to use many types of video.
Check them out if knoppix interests you.

At boot try "knoppix xserver=XFree86|XF86_SVGA"
There are many more codes you could try.

quote (It doesn't recognize many cards, especially "onboard" cards)