PDA

View Full Version : Editing System files as 'root'

phdzg
02-06-2005, 08:16 PM
Hello,
I'm a totaly Linux- newbie and new in this forum, so please have mercy!
I just installed Knoppix 3.7 yesterday, because I found it pretty good. I put it on a separate HDD, cause I wanted to avoid any risks for my two NTFS-partitions.
Lilo installed, XP was still running, everything seems to work.
Today I wanted to edit some .conf files, because my epson scanner needs to be activated this way.
I realized, that I had to do this with root-access. For an old DOS-Nerd this is something completely new, so I spent several hours with searching for the right commands.
The .conf-file is owned by root so
This is what I tried:
I open the shell ("DOS-Box")
I type SU and the admins password
I try to start kwrite to navigate to the file and edit it
This is what appears:
pit@Peter:~$ su
Password:
root@Peter:/home/pit# kwrite /etc/sane.d/epson.conf
Xlib: connection to ":0.0" refused by server
Xlib: No protocol specified
kwrite: cannot connect to X server :0.0
root@Peter:/home/pit#[/color]

I hope it's just me being too silly for that, so please tell me what to do.

PIT

tom p
02-06-2005, 10:21 PM
well, your problem is, that the way you opened the root shell, you don't have the right to open any window manager programs ; but fortunatly there are several options how to go on:

* open another console window and issue a "xhost +localhost" command. You can now connect from the root console.
* open a root console from the KNOPPIX menu - it has the right to open window manager programs.
* from a console window connect via "ssh root@localhost" to your computer - this should enable a X11 tunnel, so that you
can use X11 programs. Works also for remote computers.
* use a text editor (such as vi, joe, emacs, ...) to edit the conf file.

Ciao,
Thomas

phdzg
02-08-2005, 05:02 PM
Hi Thomas,
thanks a lot, you made it!
After this I was able to edit everything.