PDA

View Full Version : Grave problems with TerminalServer in latest (8/4/04) Knopix

gazelle
02-06-2005, 11:22 PM
I have had great success in the past with the knoppix-terminal server. In previous versions, it has pretty much "just worked". That is, you just run knoppix-terminalserver start and it does it all.

I have also had great success customizing it, so I'm no newbie here.

However, I recently d/l'd the 8/4/04 version and the terminal server just doesn't work. Hardware (machines, cables, etc) is exactly the same as before (cross-verified that the older version and setup works fine). Note that the one thing that is strange is that the new (current, 8/4/04) version setups up 2 ethernet devices on my machine (there really is only 1). This threw me for a loop for quite a while - but I eventually figured that my ethernet port is seen as eth1. Is there any way to disable its setting up eth0 as a phantom? Anyway, I do have "eth1" in the appropriate places in the various config files for the terminal server.

Here is a summary of what I've found (all tests were done from boot of physical CD ROM):

1) It works every so often (this is the weird part). Basically, about once a day (in a day's worth of testing).

2) The DHCP "discover" works - it gets an IP address. But the TFTP almost always fails.

3) About half the time, it just stops right there - eventually, the TFTP times out and the machine then will go ahead and boot the hard disk (i.e., the machine starts out booting PXE, then defaults to booting the hard disk).

4) The other half the time, the TFTP tries to do things the old way - based on the hex string of the client IP address (in my case, C000A8FA).
I was actually able to get the thing working by going to /tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg and linking the "default" file to this address. Then, the boot succeeds (sometimes) - by eventually dropping back to finding the file based on its IP address. Obviously, this is not a *good* solution.