PDA

View Full Version : Trying to fix Win XP Home mess w/NTFS write access (long)

frugalyankee
02-08-2005, 07:42 PM
<sigh>I am not an IT expert, but because I know how to use adaware, spybot and hijackthis the neighbors think I am god and can fix their pcs.
The long story....nice but clueless neighbors are running Win XP Home (no SP 1 or 2) on a Compaq Presario 5310, say they had viruses and/or spyware and when the bad stuff got deleted on reboot they could no longer log in. You could get to log in screen, enter password, then you would see the wallpaper for a moment, then you would get logged off ("saving your settings"). I asked them for any and all CDs, and all they tried to give me was some CD-RWs still in the package. They said MAYBE the CDs that came with the PC were out in the barn.