PDA

View Full Version : Newbie can't complete boot up

Ken
04-04-2003, 08:45 PM
I put the CD in reboot, get Knoppix welcome screen, hit enter I get Tux and the programs starts to load. Shows what it's detected. Then the screen goes blank, light on the keyboard goes out and after a bit the CD stops spining and it just sits there. The USB optical mouse has power, if I move it I can hear the CD spin. No keyboard, black screen. :cry:

This is my first attempt with linux. Can anyone help?
TIA
Ken

Knoppix v3.2 2003-03-30
Win XPpro, 2.4 gig Intel, 512 RAM

Henk Poley
04-04-2003, 08:56 PM
Take a look at the docs (http://www.knoppix.net/docs/), especially the "cheatcodes".

And uhm, if you have a video problem I would suggest posting about your videocard...

Ken
04-04-2003, 09:20 PM
Henk

Thanks for the quick reply. I have looked at the cheatcodes by hitting F2 at the start but not sure what if anything I need to change. I could change to lang=us but would it stop the keyboard from functioning if I didn't?
I don't believe it's a video problem. I have an Nvidia GeForce 4 card. I can see the boot screen.

Stephen
04-05-2003, 04:59 AM
Try booting with a cheat code of:

boot: knoppix lang=us vga=normal

boot: knoppix lang=us fb800x600

boot: knoppix failsafe

The keyboard still works the light going out would be the num lock key. IIRC KDE starts with the num lock key off by default you have to change a setting for it to be turned on at startup of KDE.

RockMumbles
04-05-2003, 05:23 AM
I can see the boot screen.

The boot screen is totally different than the video mode that knoppix runs in, it sound like a video problem to me, no video after hardware detection.

What kind of monitor do you have?

rock

Ken
04-05-2003, 06:44 AM
Thanks Stephen and Rock,
I'm using 18 flat panel DVI input with 1280x1024 native resolution.
I'll try the cheat settings you suggested. Also understand about the num lock as it goes out as soon as the boot screen starts.
Thanks,
Ken

Ken