PDA

View Full Version : Not meant to be installed on the hard drive?

357mag
02-15-2005, 05:27 AM
I thought I read that Knoppix is really not meant to be installed on your hard drive, but rather just run from the CD. Now that I don't understand. Why would you not install your operating system to your hard drive?

And what is this business about if you choose to install Knoppix you should not follow the instructions in the FAQ because you will end up installing the German version. I'm just starting to experiment with Linux(only tried the Linspire Live DVD so far) but is there a way to install the English version?

Harry Kuhman
02-15-2005, 06:24 AM
This is just my own understanding on this, I am not a developer and do not speak for them:

Knoppix is built from the ground up to be a Live CD. Something that a new user can experience Linux with without having to install. Also a handy too that any Linux user can take to a new system and have up and working in the time it takes to boot. To that end and to get the most out of a limited amount of space on a CD, a number of tricks were done, including mixing parts of stable and unstable systems. They work together fine on the CD. They might work OK when installed to hard drive, but updating the system (as people who install it are likely to do, particularly when they want to add new software that requires it) will frequently cause problems.

Also, and this is just from what I see in these forums, the scripts that install Knoppix often tend to get little things wrong, like permission on files or folders. This is not a big issue to a Linux expert, but for beginners it can be a major problem. I've lost count of how many times I've seen post like "networking worked fine before I instaled to hard drive, but it stopped after an install" that turned out to be little or nothing more than changing a permission somewhere.