PDA

View Full Version : problems with partitioning



borg239
02-17-2005, 01:53 AM
Hi guy, first i just want to say, i really hate sounding like a troll or a lamer. but this is eating me alive.
i am following the instructions to install knoppix on the hd, and i get to the point where i am partitioning the hd.
tell me what i am doing wrong.

create first partition at the beginning on the hd (primary partition) size 1gig (yes i am nuts) type linux swap.
then create another primary partition size 17 gig, type linux
then i do the linux partition as bootable, then i do a write on it.
then quit
but it keeps telling me that i didnt meet the requirements.
so what am i doing wrong?
please let me know

Jansi
02-17-2005, 05:48 PM
Let's see... I seem to remember a year ago or so being stuck in a situation where the knoppix-installer said I didn't meet the requirements. I think I solved it (funny how quickly we forget) by NOT formatting my partitions ext3. I either reformatted everything in ext2, or just let knoppix-installer do it automatically.

Sorry if this doesn't help; in short, I just remember something about ext3 being a problem, and ext2 being the solution.

mr_ed
02-19-2005, 10:45 AM
As many times as I've partitioned, petitioned, and gone through perdition, when I installed Knoppix to HD earlier this week I forgot to explicitly tell knopiix-installer to associate / with the one non-swap partition I was giving it.

But surely you're more careful than I was, right? :wink:

-- Ed

marhleet
02-19-2005, 11:31 PM
me, rool new at this.
but i managed to get it to install with the
sudo knoppix-installer

i got past the requirements, with

512mb ext3 AND 'active'
256mb linux-swap
9gb ext2

the ext3 at the front
plus set it active, like in fdisk for fat32

marhleet
03-15-2005, 09:49 AM
I just used my same Knoppix cd.....
mind it hadn't quite finished booting into the dektop screen, so I was using one of the tty screens

the
sudo knoppix-installer
was using the cfdisk program for the fdisking part.
it looks nothing like the program I used earlier on the other computer.

was it maybe the not quite booted up system or did I use a different command to what I think I used.
========
tty screen knoppix-installer uses cfdisk
kdm screen uses qtparted.....
but also, while the "alert, partitions not correct" part looks the same...
the qtparted prog is new to me. I wonder what changed /....

the cfdisk doesn't seem to show differences between linux partition types.
looking for ext2 / ext3
setting a partition active