PDA

View Full Version : Got knoppix but had to start windows!!

rsmanyan
02-18-2005, 02:52 PM
I am a newbie. Ihave knoppix3.7 and a hp windowsXP home PC. Everytime, I want to run knoppix, becoz I have to insert the CD, I have to start WinXP , insert the koppix cd and restart the computer. As my harddisk is a single NTFS partition, Iam not able to do hdd install. Tried stoopng the windows booting with pause/break key,but my keyboard is not getting detected.

Is there a way for this ?

Regards,
RSM

Harry Kuhman
02-18-2005, 02:57 PM
You could insall a boot manager like XOSL (http://www.ranish.com/part/xosl.htm) or Smart Boot Manager (http://btmgr.webframe.org/) to your hard disk MBR.

gnarvaja
02-19-2005, 02:52 AM
... or check the Ultimate Boot CD (http://www.ultimatebootcd.com)

--GN

rsmanyan
02-19-2005, 09:05 AM
Thank you Harry and GN,

Let me try them and come back.

On first look, I may require some help though for installation of SBM as I am new to MBR and Linux.

XOSL requires DOS OS on FAT16/32 but I have only Windows XP . Do I have to install XOSL after erasing my XP and reinstal XP ?

RS

rsmanyan
02-19-2005, 09:27 AM
Thank you Harry and GN,

Let me try them and come back.

On first look, I may require some help though for installation of SBM as I am new to MBR and Linux.

XOSL requires DOS OS on FAT16/32 but I have only Windows XP . Do I have to install XOSL after erasing my XP and reinstal XP ?

RS

harken
02-19-2005, 11:02 AM
Maybe I'm missing something but what has the fact that you have only one, NTFS partition, to do with the impossibility of installing Knoppix? Get yourself something like PartitionMagic, create a new partition (actually 2 or 3) then install Knoppix there. Even fdisk can do the job.

And WinXP can be brought to a boot options menu by using the F8 key.

Harry Kuhman
02-19-2005, 02:44 PM
...XOSL requires DOS OS on FAT16/32 but I have only Windows XP . Do I have to install XOSL after erasing my XP and reinstal XP ?