PDA

View Full Version : Freezes in Boot

System
02-20-2005, 03:23 PM
Hi im new to linux and knoppix and dont know much about it.
I transfered knoppix 3.6 to cd and booted from it on my laptop and it freezes.
This is what i do:
Start up computer (bios is set to boot from cd)
Knoppix 3.6 screen appears.
I press [Enter] next to the word 'Boot:'
it goes:
Loading linux24...
Loading minirt24.gz...

Next the screen says:
Welcome to the knoppix live linux-on-CD!

Scanning for USB/Firewire devices... Done
Enabling DMA acceleration for: hda [IBM-DARA-206000]
Enabling DMA acceleration for: hdc [Samsung CD-ROM SN-124]
Looking for CDROM in: /dev/scd0

Then it doesnt do anything, am i meant to type something?
Anyone have any idea what the problem is? or what i should do?

Laptop Stats:
Dell Latitude CPi A400XT
Pentium II
Math Comprocessor: Integrated
128MB RAM
Video Memory 2.5MB
BIOs Level: A08
Hardrive no1: 2.92GB
Hardrive no2: 2.51GB

any help much appreciated

System
02-20-2005, 03:59 PM
Typing 'Failsafe' at boot gets it to start, but it takes forever to start anything, would copying the files to hardisk make everything load quicker?

HONK
02-20-2005, 05:25 PM
Did you check the md5sum? maybe your knoppix disk is just bad....

HONK

Harry Kuhman
02-20-2005, 05:30 PM
If you've already checked the md5 sum (which is certainly the first thing you should have done), then maybe booting with the nodam cheat code would help.

HONK
02-20-2005, 05:33 PM
I think you mean nodma...

Harry Kuhman
02-20-2005, 05:44 PM
I think you mean nodma...
Opps, yea! :oops:

System
02-20-2005, 09:21 PM
whats md5sum? dont forget im new, i got it working by typing failsafe in at boot

Harry Kuhman
02-20-2005, 09:26 PM
whats md5sum? dont forget im new, i got it working by typing failsafe in at boot