PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Networking woes on a total Newbie

Phishman
02-21-2005, 01:01 AM
Im new to knopix and need to connect my knopix computer to my PC with Windows XP Pro. Whats the best way to do this? I need to run one of them on wireless, is it better to put the WIFI on the Windows PC and use Wired for the linux? How do i go about setting up the network? Any recogmendations for Hardware? I have a Westell Versalink 327W wireless/wired router that came for free with my DSL, will this work or sohould i buy something else?
Thanks. I really need the help

Harry Kuhman
02-21-2005, 01:13 AM
......I need to run one of them on wireless, is it better to put the WIFI on the Windows PC and use Wired for the linux? ......p
Linux support for wireless is not great, as many vendors will not release information for their cards or chip set. However, they do provide drivers for Windows. So if it makes no difference to you, then I would say run the Linux system wired.

However, you don't seem to care which system is wired and which is wireless. This makes me wonder if both might not be wired. I don't know the details of your particular router, it may only have one wired port. But you can buy a "switch" for less than you can buy a wireless networking card (I saw a couple advertised this weekend for $10 after rebate). A "switch" in this context is a device with multile ethernet connections (ports) on it, and allows you to connect multiple ethernet devices when you don't have enough ports to plug them all in. (There are also hubs, which are less sophisticated, but switches are dirt cheap now and usually a better choice unless you have a good reason to use a hub rather than a switch.)