PDA

View Full Version : How to do you do a 'full debian install' w/o dma?



clarjon1
02-23-2005, 01:59 PM
Whenever I try to do a HD install with the debian install option enabled, no matter what I do it for some reason enables DMA for all drives, and that makes the whole system freeze when it tries to copy a new hardware config to somewhere, it freezes.
How can I stop this madness??

fingers99
02-23-2005, 04:28 PM
Which install? Which version are you using?

I've done a sucessful install of 3.6 to hard drive using knoppix-installer by booting up from the CD with the nodma cheatcode, waiting for everything to come up and running the installer from a shell.

clarjon1
02-24-2005, 01:55 PM
ver 3.4, there's the full, beginner, and hardware detect choices, and it doesn't matter what (or how many times i type it) it just won't disable DMA!
and i want to try the full debian installation
:(

fingers99
02-25-2005, 03:43 AM
Ideas only: try 3.6.

Try removing whatever needs nodma (you are booting with knoppix nodma?). This is likely to be a optical drive of some sort. You might even try substituting (borrow it) a drive of another make.