PDA

View Full Version : how do i do php on knoppix?



papwilly
02-25-2005, 03:31 PM
i intend to start learning php because i hear it's great but i want to do it with knoppix. does knppix come with the php, mysql and apache server, since these are what i need? how do i figure and launch?

tom p
02-25-2005, 05:20 PM
Yes, it seems all you need is on board; can't say for sure though, because I run a Knoppix HD install. You can start MySQL by typing "/etc/init.d/mysql start" as root user in a shell; similarilly start Apache by typing "/etc/init.d/apache start". The Apache DocumentRoot is configured under /var/www (the direcetory that holds the files you see when you request a page under http://localhost/). PHP pages should have a ".php" extension.

Thomas

papwilly
03-02-2005, 03:11 PM
thanks. i'll try it.