PDA

View Full Version : Hard Drive Instalaton Question



coolmarine24
02-25-2005, 05:18 PM
Hi I just downloaded Knoppx and burn it into a CD. I'm outting the CD into the CD-ROM and when the computer boots, it takes me to the Knoppix Screen and a prompt that says boot: what command should i enter here do start installation? im a new knoppix user, Thank You

coolmarine24
02-25-2005, 05:33 PM
ok at the prompt i typed knoppix and it started the installation, this is the screen i now see:

welcome to the knoppix live linux-on-cd

scanning for usb/firewire devices.....done
enabling dma acceleration for: hda [samsung cd-r/rw sw-240b ]
accesing knoppix cdrom at /dev/scd0...
total memory found 2069420 kb
creating /ramdisk (dinamic size=1643708k) on shared memory......done
creating directories and symlinks on ramdisk.......done
startint init process
INIT: version 2.70-knoppix booting
runnig linux kernel 2.4.27
processor 0 is Intel (r) XEON (TM) CPU 1.80GHZ 798 MHZ, 512 kb cache
processor 1 is Intel (r) XEON (TM) CPU 1.80GHZ 798 MHZ, 512 kb cache
processor 2 is Intel (r) XEON (TM) CPU 1.80GHZ 798 MHZ, 512 kb cache
processor 3 is Intel (r) XEON (TM) CPU 1.80GHZ 798 MHZ, 512 kb cache

after this nothing happens, it jsut stays there......is there anything im doing wrong?? please help

tom p
02-25-2005, 05:47 PM
What Knoppix version? You might want to take a look at the Knoppix cheat codes (I hate that notion - they are really boot options). You might try to boot the 2.6 kernel and see if it is progressing further (see the Knoppix.net Documentation link for details about the cheat codes.)

Thomas

coolmarine24
02-25-2005, 05:53 PM
it is version 3.7 what command could i use? thanks in davance

tom p
02-25-2005, 06:14 PM
I'd first try "knoppix26"; maybe "acpi=off" will help, too.

Thomas

coolmarine24
02-25-2005, 07:03 PM
what does the acpi=off command do?? should i add that after knoppix26 or should i enter that command by itself? Thanks Thomas

coolmarine24
02-25-2005, 07:17 PM
i used the knoppix26 command and it did the same thing, i see screens below and then it stops and does nothing:

welcome to the knoppix live linux-on-cd

scanning for usb/firewire devices.....done
enabling dma acceleration for: hda [samsung cd-r/rw sw-240b ]
accesing knoppix cdrom at /dev/scd0...
total memory found 2069420 kb
creating /ramdisk (dinamic size=1643708k) on shared memory......done
creating directories and symlinks on ramdisk.......done
startint init process
INIT: version 2.70-knoppix booting
runnig linux kernel 2.4.27
processor 0 is Intel (r) XEON (TM) CPU 1.80GHZ 798 MHZ, 512 kb cache
processor 1 is Intel (r) XEON (TM) CPU 1.80GHZ 798 MHZ, 512 kb cache
processor 2 is Intel (r) XEON (TM) CPU 1.80GHZ 798 MHZ, 512 kb cache
processor 3 is Intel (r) XEON (TM) CPU 1.80GHZ 798 MHZ, 512 kb cache

pureone
02-25-2005, 08:06 PM
how long did it stay there for. whats your cpu speed and how much ram have you got?
and are the specs of your hardware, vendor etc.

by this way knoppix does not install right away at boot. its a live cd meaning everything is ready for you to use no need to install anything to the hd.

you could try using differnt types of boot codes.
but that would all depend on your hardware

ramaswamyps
02-26-2005, 03:52 AM
i feel ur downloading knoppix is corrupted
try redownload knoppix 3.7 and burn image again
it looks like it doesnt know what to do after checking processor type
all the best
by the way u have enough ram installed?
:)

Harry Kuhman
02-26-2005, 04:57 AM
i feel ur downloading knoppix is corrupted
try redownload knoppix 3.7 and burn image again....
Sorry, but what awful advice! If someone has a corrupt burn, doing the above may very likely give them a corrupt burn again. The best advice is to follow the Downloading FAQ reached by the Documentation link at the top of this page. In short the steps that needed to be said but were missed in the above post would be: Download the ISO and and the md5 file and confirm that the ISO is good by running an md5 check program with the md5 file downloaded (this lets you know if you have a good or bad download, no guesswork involved). Then burn the disk again at slow speed, (such as 4x), not as fast as the burner will run.

I'm not sue if the CD is corrupt or not. But if it is then just repeating the same steps without checking the downloaded ISO makes no sense.