PDA

View Full Version : Some problem with knoppix live cd ..

nugie
02-25-2005, 09:53 PM
Hii everyone..

Well first of all, I'm new in linux I mean Very2 new in linux..
a few days ago I borrow knoppix cd from my friend, and had tried in my computer

everything seem working just fine , booting , programs , etc.. but finaly I have some problem..

1. I cannot hear any sound from my speaker when I play mp3 with xmms( my soundcard is onboard AC 97 and it's already detected , volume Kmix is high , sound system enable , and I've checked all option in sound card configuration menu , the xmms play the mp3 like usualy with no error massages )

2. Xine cannot play wmv, rm, mpeg files

3. while I tried to download file *.exe for my windows with mozilla browser, when "save as window" appear and destination is hda1 , the "save" button is not working when I clicked it.. ( nothing is happenned )

4. so I tried to download the same file ( same destination ) with konquer web browser ( with Kget integrated ), I got error massage " Kget cannot write the *.exe to hda1 "

Any advise would be fine ( specialy for no.1 ) , but please write in the newbe language.. :-)

Sorry for my bad english..:-)

Thanks a lot ..

marhleet
02-25-2005, 11:39 PM
3. from the CD, your hard drives are in read-only mode. you can't write to them.
if you have the hda1 icon on your desktop, you can check the properties, and (on my icon) the third tab is Device, and there is a read-only check box

pureone
02-26-2005, 12:12 AM
try too boot knoppix with the cheat code

knoppix alsa
i dont think xine has the win32 codecs built in by default so some file types you wont beable to play.

you cant use exe files in linux well not win32 .exe files .exe files most be compiled for a certain os.

the only way your be able to use .exe files in linux is with wine.

nugie
02-26-2005, 01:01 AM
thanks for the reply guys..