PDA

View Full Version : *Newbie* help install KNOPPIX CD on WinXP

wardialer
04-06-2003, 07:04 PM
Hello, I wish someone could walk me through this. I installed the CD, but the problems comes in the boot section. What do I need to type on the lower left hand corner where its says (BOOT:_) ?

And also, how would I access the internet and email settings? I know, there is a lot of questions to ask. Im very very new at this so I think its better to ask the pros.

Would be compatable to a laptop computer?

I would really wish someone could walk me through step by step with the Knoppix CD Installation.

thx.

MattT
04-06-2003, 07:20 PM
Unless you have a specific problem you don't need to type anything. Just press enter or wait a few seconds for it to start itself :)

wardialer
04-06-2003, 07:24 PM
Thanks for the reply. And what about the Internet and email settings? And would this work on a laptop?

Stephen
04-06-2003, 07:46 PM
How are you going to connect to the internet, ethernet card or modem (hardware or winmodem) this determines the setup method used. For the e-mail you just have to configure whichever e-mail client you want to use with the settings you got from your ISP just like you would have to in windows.

As for the laptop it depends on the support for the hardware in the machine itself what is the make, model post as much detail as possible it helps in giving you a proper answer (always a good procedure with any question).

rickenbacherus
04-06-2003, 09:26 PM
Unless you have a specific problem you don't need to type anything. Just press enter or wait a few seconds for it to start itself :)