PDA

View Full Version : problems installing to Hdd

Patonr
02-28-2005, 07:42 PM
When I try to install knoppix I always get the message “Opened disk read only – you have no permission to write” I am new to Linux I have tried mandrake but preferred knoppix. Thanks for any help.

eon
02-28-2005, 11:54 PM
Are you doing "sudo knoppix-installer" to start the install?
If you are then maybe you don't have a writable partiton created
for the installer to use. You could use the mandrake cd to
partion your drive if you need to. Good Luck!

Patonr
03-05-2005, 10:14 PM
i was using "sudo knx2hd" i tried using QTParted and suscsesfully compleated it and now i get the error when i try to install

"Error: Formatting of failed. som messages from
mkfs.ext3: Usage: mkfs.ext3 [-c:-t:-] fliename] [-b
blocksize] [-f fragment-size]
[-i bites-per-inode] [-j] [-J journal options] [-N
number-of-inodes]
[-m reserved-blocks-percentage] [-0 creator-os] [-g
blocks-per-group]
[-L volume Lable] [-M last-mounted-directroy] [-O
feature[,...]]
[-r fs-revision] [-R raid_opts] [-qvSV] device
[blocks-count]"

Please Help I Am A Linux Newbe and have no idear what is wrong.

Thanks

eon
03-06-2005, 04:36 PM
I don't know what version of knoppix you're trying to install but for recent versions
"sudo knoppix-installer" is the preferred method.

You might try using "cfdisk /dev/hdX" where X is the drive (represented by a letter) you want to partition.
Qtparted sometimes doesn't work correctly ( in my experiance) If you continue to have problems you
might need to list your hardware and be very specific about what exactly what you
have tried so far.

knoppwho
03-11-2005, 12:00 AM
*BUMP*

Im having the exact same problem. knoppix 3.7 english. i boot up, cntl alt F2 , at the prompt sudo knoppix-installer , if i try to partiotion cfdisk says read only, if i just try the install ( drives is already partintioned) it bails out with a mks.3fs error...

any ideas ?