PDA

View Full Version : there are 5 iso files, do I download all of these and put on

ArticWhite
03-07-2005, 07:07 PM
I am a newbie here so bare with me. I am trying to download and then burn the knopixx iso .
when i got to the ftp site i found it gives 5 knoppix iso files to download.
the first one I have downloaded, but not burned yet. there is a zip file on the desktop and the the iso images are in a folder i selected.

Question 1 Do i need to download the other iso files that are grouped with it???
12/09/2004 12:31PM 732,942,336 KNOPPIX_V3.7-2004-12-08-EN.iso
12/09/2004 12:39PM 65 KNOPPIX_V3.7-2004-12-08-EN.iso.md5
12/09/2004 12:39PM 408 KNOPPIX_V3.7-2004-12-08-EN.iso.md5.asc
12/09/2004 12:55PM 73 KNOPPIX_V3.7-2004-12-08-EN.iso.sha1
12/09/2004 12:55PM 416 KNOPPIX_V3.7-2004-12-08-EN.iso.sha1.asc
12/09/2004 01:36PM 832 README

Do i download all of those? and also Can i put it on dvd? or it must go on cd?
how do i get it all on cd?? The first file seems to large for 1 cd, but that is the one I have downloaded and it is sittin on pc. what next??? i read the FAQ, but newbie doesnt understand all of it.

thanks in advance :?

Markus
03-07-2005, 07:25 PM
Check the downloading faq http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Downloading_FAQ
If you have a bittorrent client I recommend using it since it tends to give cleaner downloads

Harry Kuhman
03-07-2005, 07:50 PM
.... there is a zip file on the desktop and the the iso images are in a folder i selected.
I doubt very much that there is a zip file. I suggest that you make sure that windows does not hide extensions from you, it's a "feature" that should always be turned off. You only need one ISO, one that ends in EN for Englisg or DE for German. If you are not using Bittorrent than you really need the md5 file too and to check the md5 sum before burning. And, if you are asking these questions, it's likely that you will burn it wrong unless you read the downloading faq.

ArticWhite
03-08-2005, 12:36 AM