PDA

View Full Version : Netgear WG111 USB with 3.6 kernal

Phishman
03-10-2005, 10:42 PM
I'm running Knoppix 3.6 on a new computer that i had working great on wired DSL before. Now i need to run it on wireless by means of a Westell Versalink router/modem with a wireless system. I purchased a Netgear USB 802.11G router and it works great in windows XP pro. I get full reception and speed. But i cant get anything in linux. I'm pretty new to linux and any help would be much needed. Thanks alot.

ghaze
03-12-2005, 12:31 AM
I purchased a Netgear USB 802.11G router

What exactly do you mean? What is the exact make and model number
of your card? How is it connected to your computer? Both the netgear
311's that I'm aware of are pci cards, not usb. There's a good chance
your card will work, but you need to be specific if you want help.

Phishman
03-12-2005, 03:31 AM
Its not a netgear router, its a Westell Versalink Model 327W router running wired internet on my Windows XP only computer and it has to communicate to my other computer by means of my Netgear WG111 wich is a USB WIFI device. In windows all i had to do was plug it in and it worked. But in linux, it doesnt work at all. Any sugestions would be great. Thanks again Knoppix people.

ghaze
03-12-2005, 04:30 AM
This is from the ndiswrapper wiki

http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/phpwiki/index.php/List?PHPSESSID=d47f9aff42bb0f748ecd6601c11218cd

Card: NETGEAR WG111 802.11g Wireless USB2.0 Adapter
Chipset: Prism54 (Intersil 3886 and NetChip NET2280)
usbid: 0846:4220
Driver: Netgear windows driver Version: NETGEAR, Inc.,03/03/2004, 1.0.8.4 from http://www.netgear.com