PDA

View Full Version : Live CD in CD-ROM Drive not recognised when trying to boot.

TrevorM
03-11-2005, 03:02 PM
Hello - I'm brand new to Knoppix, so please bear with me!

I have Knoppix 3.7.1 on Live CD. Just running the CD in the CR-ROM drive brings up the html welcome page, and all the links work fine.

However, when I try to boot from the Live CD, the CD simply isn't being recognised by the CD-ROM drive. The full hierarchy seems to be on the CD - the Boot folder contains an Isolinux folder which in turn contains 3.97Mb. The KNOPPIX folder is 694Mb and contains and Images folder and several other files, of which KNOPPIX is the main one.

I have set up my bios to show the CD-ROM drive as the 1st bootable device. The computer does spend several seconds looking for a bootable record on the CD-ROM before passing on and booting up in Windows 2000 Professional as usual.

I'm using an ATAPI 24x CD-ROM drive.

Any help or guidance appreciated.

Many thanks.

fingers99
03-11-2005, 06:38 PM
At first glance, this looks like you didn't burn the .iso as an image, but rather burnt a data CD with the iso on it. Any error messages? Can you try with the other boot devides disabled in the bios?

TrevorM
03-11-2005, 07:05 PM
Thanks for coming back.

I didn't actual burn th CD myself - I bought it ready-cooked!

There are no error messages - the CD is simply ignored.

I have tried with the HD as the 3rd bootable source (behind Floppy/CD & CD/Floppy), but was a little nervous of attempting to boot with no source designated other than the CD-ROM. What would be the consequence of booting with no source selected if the CD refused to respond?

Cheers.

UnderScore
03-11-2005, 07:42 PM