PDA

View Full Version : 1st partiton on the HD for correct instalation?

altella2005
03-13-2005, 11:40 PM
Hi all

First of all, say that I am new to linux and Knoppix is fascinating.
I want to install it on my HD, but reading the FAQ´s I´ve seen tha the knoppix partition must be the "first" in the HD.
In my second, slave HD, I have already a partition for backup data from windows and a swap partition. If I create a new partioton for knoppix, it will be ok?? If not, there´s any solution to this?
2.- the bootloader will be installed in the master HD? How can I install the bootloader in a flopy disk?
Please help....

Thanks in advance

Shadda
03-14-2005, 12:04 AM
No, any partition will be fine, so long as It's marked 'Bootable' and is recognized in your BIOS.

It will simply write to your MBR (if you let it) and you'll be able to choose it from whichever bootloader you have. (by default, knoppix will install Lilo to your MBR. You can tell it not to do this during installation, however)

I myself run several operating systems on any given computer, accross multiple harddrives.

mr_ed
03-14-2005, 01:26 PM
the knoppix partition must be the "first" in the HD
It's Windows that requires this, and it can be fooled with the proper bootloader settings.

Right now I have Linuxes on partitions 7, 8, 10, and 11 of one computer, and they all use 5 for swap and 6 for /home. (Partition 9 has NetBSD, which also does fine on a logical partition.) BIOS can only see 4 partitions, and I never mark one as active (bootable) - bootloaders don't need it.

Do you mind having LILO or GrUB in the Master Boot Record? They work great, honest! :D But sure, you can boot from a floppy. My other machine does this now (for WinME and some Unixes). I've been meaning to install to the MBR, but I've swapped hard drives in and out and haven't gotten around to it.

Also, bootloaders save the original MBR and can restore it if you don't like how they work.