PDA

View Full Version : Please help me to install my conexant modem (really newbie)

White_Devil
03-14-2005, 04:26 AM
Hello all, i'm really new with linux, i have knoppix and i just love it, but i have been trying to install my modem for my dial up conection but it doesnt work, some times it say "modem is busy" and other times is "modem not response" so i have readed a lot about it, and i know that first i have to login as the root (and i dont know how) i know that i have to use "su" or "sudo su" but, where do i put that ?? and how i know if i'm the root or not ?? where can i see it ?? and then i have to select with comX is my conexant modem port (i.e. com0, com1, com2, etc) and i have been choosing all 16 com port and nothing, just errors and more errors, can somebody please guide me about how to do this step by step please ? :$

Thank you really much..

(By the way, sorry about my bad english)

bluesdog
03-19-2005, 01:01 AM
I'm quite new at this, as well, but I think if you are trying to run Knoppix from the CD, and install drivers for your modem, you might have to establish a persistent home directory first -- that's under the configuration menu, (click the little penguin icon on the taskbar)

I don't even know if it's possible to configure a modem under a live CD session :roll:

Modems under linux tend to be rather finicky. I spent days trying to get a supposedly linux compatible modem running under Mandrake Linux, and even with a guru's help was only successful when I booted under failsafe mode.

Make sure you have the appropriate Linux driver for your conextant modem: http://www.linuxant.com/drivers/

To change from ordinary user to root, you must open a teminal. That's the little monitor icon on the taskbar. You can assign yourself root privileges by typing 'su' in the terminal window

You will know you are root when the prompt changes from a dollar sign ($) to a number sign (#)