PDA

View Full Version : KNoppix 3.7 to HD? help!

gonzo
03-24-2005, 11:13 AM
I am new to knoppix have become confused on how to install knoppix to run off the HD. I have a blank HD and would like to install Knoppix on to it. The HD is 20GB I want Koppix on just a 10GB partition. After that I want to put WinXp on the after Partition as a dual boot.

Hope you can help

Harry Kuhman
03-24-2005, 11:37 AM
... After that I want to put WinXp on the after Partition as a dual boot....
I'm not the right person to advise anyone to install Knoppix onto a hard drive, but if you do plan to do so and also have XP on the disk I would very strongly suggest htat life will be much simpler if you install Windows first to a small partition and then install Knoppix. Windows really doesn't like other OS's and will wipe out your boot loader when it is installed,. If you install Windows first and leave space for Knoppix then you can at least avoid that problem and focus on the other problems of Knoppix installed to hard disk.

gonzo
03-24-2005, 11:39 AM
Do I use NTFS or FAT?

Harry Kuhman
03-24-2005, 11:44 AM
Do I use NTFS or FAT?For the XP partition you can use either. If you think there is ever any reason that you will want to write to that partition with Knoppix then use FAT. If you want some of the newer features available only with NTFS (files larger than 4 gig, access control by user and encrypted file systems) then use NTFS but if you do never write to the disk with Knoppix (look but don't touch). I have an XP system with 1 NTFS partition and 1 FAT partition, works fine.

gonzo
03-24-2005, 11:54 AM
Thanks, what's the process of install Knoppix to a partition then? I use the Knoppix STD (security version)

Harry Kuhman
03-24-2005, 12:03 PM
Thanks, what's the process of install Knoppix to a partition then? I use the Knoppix STD (security version)