PDA

View Full Version : i am new to lynux

wisbill
04-09-2003, 03:30 AM
hello i am new to lynux and my friend sugested to get knoppix to get my feet wet and see if i like it. being over caution i have decided to do some resarch first and i found this forum exstremly helpful but i do have a few question if someone dont mind helping out.
1. i am currently stealing internet contetcion of my dad cable line through a local network with out him knowing about it is this still possible?
2. i will be using this for my school work and was worried about what kind of word process and spread sheet program that is in cluded with lynux
3. i also was wondering if it suported dvd-RW?
3b if it does can one add more software and boot form dvd :)
3c if this is possibly could one boot without closing the cd so it can be chaged and personlised a little more at each boot
4. this is probly a dumb question but like i said i new what kind of programing lang. does lynux use

thanks for you help
Paul Isbill

Stephen
04-09-2003, 04:09 AM
To answer your questions:

#1 Yes it should automatically detect your network connection.
#2 For info on software included see here (http://www.knopper.net/knoppix/index-en.html).
#3 Yes
#3b Boot from dvd not sure.
#3c You have to close the session to make any disk bootable. You would have to remaster the ISO image to make changes so you should do a HD install if you want to add more software.
#4 C, C++, perl, java, and numerous others.

BTW it is spelled linux. :)

VeeDubb
04-09-2003, 04:58 AM
1,3,4 see above

2. See above, but also, if you find that you like open office (I do) you can download and install it to windows and the price is the same as almost all linux software. FREE. I think it is right on par with Office XP and well above previous versions of office. See http://www.openoffice.org