PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix in Windoze from Hard Drive???

Anomaly
03-24-2005, 09:15 PM
Ok, so Knoppix is a version of Debian. Does Debian do all the autodetect and setup stuff that Knoppix does?

Being a complete newbie to Linux and also having ADD I need something that I can just start using and learn the details as I go along. Knoppix does a great job of this but does Debian?

Also, this may be asking too much, but it would be nice to be able to run something in a window on WinXP for a while so I can switch back and forth without a reboot like I'd have to do with a dual boot setup. That way I could play more easily until I feel ready to make the switch.

Thanks in advance.

UnderScore
03-24-2005, 09:30 PM
In the furture a better subject line would encourage more people to read and respond to your questions. Also note that none of your questions are truly dumb or newibe.

>Ok, so Knoppix is a version of Debian. Does Debian do all the autodetect and setup stuff that Knoppix does?
No it does not. Debian tends to NOT be a newbie oriented distro in regards to detecting hardware. Debian has configuration utilities for the network/sound/video etc but does not have the full autodetection capabilities of Knoppix.

>I need something that I can just start using and learn the details as I go along. Knoppix does a great job of this but does Debian?
Yes it does once it is properly setup. You could run a full GUI with eyecandy or a command line with no graphics. The difficulty is in the setup and getting your hardware supported. If you want Debian but a very newbie oriented & user friendly distro then look toward Linspire, especially the recently released Linspire 5-0. If you want Debian with full autodetection and KDE look toward KANOTIX since it is based on Knoppix. If you want a less newbie orietned distro and want to run GNOME then look at Ubuntu which will have a new release in about 3 weeks.