PDA

View Full Version : How do i install a .deb package

jakedahn
04-03-2005, 05:48 AM
i am a newb to knoppix and i need to know how to install a .deb package

thank you

fingers99
04-03-2005, 07:15 AM
First, note that you can only install a .deb package if you have a HD install, otherwise you'll have to use Klik (Kmenu>Knoppix>Utilities>install software).

Installing single deb packages really isn't the way to go.

Connect to the internet

As root (su to root) do:

apt-get update && apt-get install (name of package)

this will both get the package you want and sort out dependencies. There's a good graphical front end to this called synaptic.

There's a good guide to apt-get at the head of one of these forums.

Otherwise, you may as well use Kpackage or dpkg.

CrashedAgain
04-06-2005, 09:47 PM
Here's a brief overview of installing packages in a Debian based system:

Actual package installation is done by dpkg. This is a text based application. For an already downloaded package you could do 'dpkg -i <path & package name>. But this may fail because there may be dependencies which dpkg does not know how to find and has not been told to install.

So the next level is apt-get which will search the net for the packages it needs (including dependency packages), download and install them. It uses dpkg to do the actual install and maintains a file called /etc/apt/sources.list to know where to search for packages. This file must be updated regularly as packages get moved around in the internet repositories. This is done with the command 'apt-get update'.

But to use apt-get you must know what packages are available, so you will need a 'package browser list.