PDA

View Full Version : how should i partition my HD (presistent Home, Swap).

violent
04-09-2005, 08:49 AM
Hi, first of all just wanted to say that i am brand new to linux and knoppix, just started running it last night, and i am amazed with the speed even from just the cd. i've been using windows for awhile now, and (knock on wood) can pretty much handle anything windows throws at me (which is a lot). but knoppix is a whole other can of worms as i tested last night. so just wanted to consult everyone here, and get some clarification.
after using knoppix straight off the cd, i decided that i am def not ready to make that jump to a HD install just yet, esp. with just one HD, i have no idea how to work with bootloaders and anything outside of windows. but i still want to maximize the performance off the cd. so i followed the advice of some others on this site and partitoned up my drive some more. i have a HP, so it has a 120gb, which is cut up into 2 chunks factory standard. a 6gb FAT32 restore partiton, and a 105gb NTFS partiton. i have about 35 gb left on the NTFS partition left. so i went into partitionmagic (i know people here are against it for installing, but i am just using it to make space.) and cut up the NTFS partition some more to get this:

1. 6gb FAT32 recovery partition (didnt want to or need to mess with this)
2. 102gb NTFS partition (main partition, i took off 3 gb)
3. 1gb Linux Ext3 partition (plan to use this as my Persistent home)
4. 1gb Linux Swap partition (from what i understand, this would be used in conjecture with the ram fro more swap space)
5. 1gb FAT32 partition (for generally saving files like docs that can be used/edited in between the 2 OSs)