PDA

View Full Version : Can't run X11 from HD install after power outage - Help!

knathan
04-12-2005, 05:15 AM
I am new to linux. I installed Knoppix 3.6 to my HD. It worked great. I was experiementing with the power, (this is a Laptop) and lost power while Knoppix was running on HD. The next time it booted, it went to the terminal login. I could login, but no x win. I played around with it, booted from the CD, went in under root and ran fsck on the /dev/hda1 among some other things. I don't know what I did that fixed it, I tried booting it again on the HD and it worked and went into X11. So I keep playing around with it and loose power again, and now I can't get it to go into X11 anymore. I tried the startx command, I can't remember exactly what it said, but it wouldn't run.
It was my understanding that fsck is like scandisk, so that is why I ran it thinking that something was messed up in the journaling or something on my ext3 partition.
Any suggestions or help is appreciated!!

mr_ed
04-14-2005, 12:02 AM
My suggestions:- don't let it lose power;
- tell people what error messages say;
- don't let it lose power;
- su to root and run # kdm - this is how Knoppix starts X;
- don't let it lose power;
- look at those error messages too.Oh, and don't let it lose power. But I could be off on the wrong track here. :wink:

-- Ed

clarjon1
04-14-2005, 01:58 PM
I've had this problem, too, but I just learned to login as root, and type in kdm. If it is setup for multiuser, then it'll let you login normally.

Also, putting XDM ahead of KDM using Sys-V can help, as well as multiple KDMs. MAKE SURE IT IS IN THE RUNLEVEL THAT KDM IS ALREADY IN!!!

And, like Mr Ed said, don't let it lose power.

knathan
04-14-2005, 06:45 PM
OK, I won't play around with the power anymore.

Does Linux have a sort of autoexec.bat file that the kdm command is in?
Why would it boot into the terminal and not start kdm?