PDA

View Full Version : How do I pass arguments to a scsi driver?



12-25-2002, 03:48 PM
I'm trying to boot knoppix on an old computer that has a scsi cdrom. I know the driver I need and the arguments to pass to it because the driver doesn't detect it. I use the aha152x driver and need to pass the arguments: 0x340,11,0,1. Can anyone tell me how to do that? Thanks.

Dave_Bechtel
12-26-2002, 07:34 AM
--Try (as root, WITH the single quotes)
" modprobe aha152x 'your-options-here' "

(From /usr/src/linux/drivers/scsi/README.aha152x)

CONFIGURATION ARGUMENTS:

IOPORT base io address (0x340/0x140)
IRQ interrupt level (9-12; default 11)
SCSI_ID scsi id of controller (0-7; default 7)
RECONNECT allow targets to disconnect from the bus (0/1; default 1 [on])
PARITY enable parity checking (0/1; default 1 [on])
SYNCHRONOUS enable synchronous transfers (0/1; default 1 [on])
DELAY: bus reset delay (default 100)
EXT_TRANS: enable extended translation (0/1: default 0 [off])

2. specify only what you need to (irq or io is required; new)

io=IOPORT0[,IOPORT1]
IOPORT for first and second controller

irq=IRQ0[,IRQ1]
IRQ for first and second controller

scsiid=SCSIID0[,SCSIID1]
SCSIID for first and second controller

reconnect=RECONNECT0[,RECONNECT1]
allow targets to disconnect for first and second controller

parity=PAR0[PAR1]
use parity for first and second controller

sync=SYNCHRONOUS0[,SYNCHRONOUS1]
enable synchronous transfers for first and second controller

delay=DELAY0[,DELAY1]
reset DELAY for first and second controller

exttrans=EXTTRANS0[,EXTTRANS1]
enable extended translation for first and second controller


If you use both alternatives the first will be taken.


I'm trying to boot knoppix on an old computer that has a scsi cdrom. I know the driver I need and the arguments to pass to it because the driver doesn't detect it. I use the aha152x driver and need to pass the arguments: 0x340,11,0,1. Can anyone tell me how to do that? Thanks.

12-26-2002, 07:44 PM
Thanks for the suggestion, but that doesn't work because I don't have modprobe in the "very limited console". I need to do an expert boot. It asks which scsi modules to load, but I need to specify arguments at that point. Do you know how to do that?

Dave_Bechtel
12-27-2002, 06:40 AM
--At expert boot, try modprobing for:

' aha152x io=0x340 irq=11 scsiid=0 reconnect=1 '
((0x340,11,0,1))

--No promises tho. My advice is to get a more modern (PCI) Scsi card, such as Advansys, or at least an Adaptec AHA2940 (which does 50-pin and 68-pin) PCI. You can find them at computer shows for ~$20-30, mostly system-pulls. Make sure you get a Genuine Adaptec card; the fakes have a blank grey area at the top-right of the card (with the backplate facing Left) where there should be some numbers.

--Or, you can email Klaus and ask him if Knoppix bootup supports your card; if not, can he include it as a boot option.


Thanks for the suggestion, but that doesn't work because I don't have modprobe in the "very limited console". I need to do an expert boot. It asks which scsi modules to load, but I need to specify arguments at that point. Do you know how to do that?

wavesailor
02-26-2006, 03:46 PM
--At expert boot, try modprobing for:

' aha152x io=0x340 irq=11 scsiid=0 reconnect=1 '
((0x340,11,0,1))

.....

Dave,

I have Knoppix 3.9 and I am trying to get it to boot on an older PC with an Adaptec 1542 SCSI controller. It seems that those modules are no longer on the Knoppix CD. Any ideas on how I can get the modules so that I may boot Knoppix?

Much appreciated,

jj

Dave_Bechtel
02-27-2006, 12:26 AM
--Dude, you resurrected a thread from **2002.** That's gotta be a new record. :roll:

See:
http://www.linux.com/howtos/Kerneld/special-devs.shtml
http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/docs/HOWTO/unmaintained/SCSI-HOWTO
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/SCSI-2.4-HOWTO/index.html

--Your best bet may be using a slightly older distro/kernel instead of Knoppix. Debian Sarge still uses a 2.4 kernel by default.

--Honestly, unless that particular Adaptec is an absolute requirement, I wouldn't waste time fooling with it. Newer SCSI cards on Ebay or the like have more features, better speed, and less configuration hassles. SCSI on ISA is a nightmare that was *gladly* left behind.



--At expert boot, try modprobing for:

' aha152x io=0x340 irq=11 scsiid=0 reconnect=1 '
((0x340,11,0,1))

.....

Dave,

I have Knoppix 3.9 and I am trying to get it to boot on an older PC with an Adaptec 1542 SCSI controller. It seems that those modules are no longer on the Knoppix CD. Any ideas on how I can get the modules so that I may boot Knoppix?

Much appreciated,

jj

wavesailor
02-27-2006, 01:22 PM
--Dude, you resurrected a thread from **2002.** That's gotta be a new record. :roll:

See:
http://www.linux.com/howtos/Kerneld/special-devs.shtml
http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/docs/HOWTO/unmaintained/SCSI-HOWTO
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/SCSI-2.4-HOWTO/index.html

--Your best bet may be using a slightly older distro/kernel instead of Knoppix. Debian Sarge still uses a 2.4 kernel by default.

--Honestly, unless that particular Adaptec is an absolute requirement, I wouldn't waste time fooling with it. Newer SCSI cards on Ebay or the like have more features, better speed, and less configuration hassles. SCSI on ISA is a nightmare that was *gladly* left behind.



Hey Dave,

Thanks for eply and yes it probably is a record :-)

I would love to buy some new gear but cannot afford it at the moment (Live in South Africa) and this machine currently runs the latest version of Slackware - 10.2 which works great. I want to use "debian-distro" as more packages are available for it.

The machine is a 486 with 64MB ram and has 2 SCSI drives and 1 SCSI CD-ROM. I run Apache and MY-SQL on it quite happily.

My problem is that I cannot get the aha1542 module to load ie. find the card - IO=0x330 and IRQ=11

Any other ideas or where to look to get it to run?

Regards,

jj

Dave_Bechtel
02-27-2006, 06:55 PM
I doubt Knoppix would work in this situation. Not designed for 486, for one thing.

Try Debian stable; especially netinstall if you have broadband. You should be able to specify the module parms (as I specified in the previous replies) at the boot prompt. Also: Make sure you have at least 256-384MB of swap partition.

http://www.us.debian.org/CD/

Give it a try; if it doesn't work you can seek further assistance at the Debian forums.



--Dude, you resurrected a thread from **2002.** That's gotta be a new record. :roll:

See:
http://www.linux.com/howtos/Kerneld/special-devs.shtml
http://www.ibiblio.org/pub/Linux/docs/HOWTO/unmaintained/SCSI-HOWTO
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/SCSI-2.4-HOWTO/index.html

--Your best bet may be using a slightly older distro/kernel instead of Knoppix. Debian Sarge still uses a 2.4 kernel by default.

--Honestly, unless that particular Adaptec is an absolute requirement, I wouldn't waste time fooling with it. Newer SCSI cards on Ebay or the like have more features, better speed, and less configuration hassles. SCSI on ISA is a nightmare that was *gladly* left behind.



Hey Dave,

Thanks for eply and yes it probably is a record :-)

I would love to buy some new gear but cannot afford it at the moment (Live in South Africa) and this machine currently runs the latest version of Slackware - 10.2 which works great. I want to use "debian-distro" as more packages are available for it.

The machine is a 486 with 64MB ram and has 2 SCSI drives and 1 SCSI CD-ROM. I run Apache and MY-SQL on it quite happily.

My problem is that I cannot get the aha1542 module to load ie. find the card - IO=0x330 and IRQ=11

Any other ideas or where to look to get it to run?

Regards,

jj

wavesailor
02-28-2006, 11:49 PM
I doubt Knoppix would work in this situation. Not designed for 486, for one thing.

Try Debian stable; especially netinstall if you have broadband. You should be able to specify the module parms (as I specified in the previous replies) at the boot prompt. Also: Make sure you have at least 256-384MB of swap partition.

http://www.us.debian.org/CD/

Give it a try; if it doesn't work you can seek further assistance at the Debian forums.



Thanks Dave but unfortunately it is at the point where I have to specify the params that I cannot get a debian distro to recognise my SCSI controller yet Slackware and RH work fine.

-jj

nad
03-01-2006, 02:26 AM
From a debian install, select "shell access" (or something similar). You can then search /etc/lib/modules/2.6.8-i386/kernel/drivers/scsi for your required driver and insmod it if it exists then do a "detect hardware" again.

On the other hand: I recently had issues with an old delledge server with an addon percraid 2/dc that required the old megaraid driver. Damned if ubuntu didn't just pick it up. As it turned out, I was able to insmod the driver in a pure debian install as above once I realised that it was included but not being automatically detected.