PDA

View Full Version : Can't connect to the internet....

calathar
04-22-2005, 07:33 AM
I downloaded and ran the livecd earlier today, and everything works great...but I can't connect to the internet. No IRC, IM, or web browsing. I'm completely new to linux, so I looked through a few other topics for help, and I saw someone mention that when typing "ifconfig" into the terminal, you should see that eth0 has an IP address. On mine, eth1 has an IP address, and eth0 doesn't show up there, though it does show up when I use "sudo netcardconfig". I'm guessing that eth0 might be my wireless ethernet, since I have the switch for it turned off right now (not near my wireless network). If that is true, is it because my wired ethernet is on eth1 and not eth0 that it doesn't work, and if so - how can I change that?

If I'm way off base on everything, let me know. I just need some help.

Harry Kuhman
04-22-2005, 04:22 PM
You should be able to connect through eth1. In fact it will be a lot simpler getting the wired link working than the wireless one.

What people need to know to be able to help you is what you are connecting to. For example, if you are connecting to a router with DHCP services, Knoppix should have been able to get all it's configuration information from that and would just be up and running. If no DHCP sever is available then you might have to run netcardconfig and manually input the rquired information (which you may need to get from the service provider). If you are running on a DSL connection without a router then you may need to run PPPoE software to send the right type packets to your DSL provider and to log in (bad idea to run DSL without a router though, get a cheap router). So try any of the above if they apply or tell people what you're trying to jack into.

harryhood
04-23-2005, 03:58 PM
Hi Harry,