PDA

View Full Version : Many Questions

AlterEgo
04-12-2003, 12:41 PM
Eyz

Okey, I'm new with Knoppix and I've got many, many questions and I hope someone can help me. Here are the Questions:

1. How can i install Knoppix on my HD?
2. How can i use MSN/ICQ?
3. How can i use my soundcard; Soundblaster Audigy Player?
4. Knoppix keeps asking a password, but i don't know what it is; where can i find it?
5. I've seen " su" many times on this forum, but what does it means?
6. How does Wine work?

TIA

MattT
04-12-2003, 03:47 PM
I will try to answer a few.

1. Go to K > KNOPPIX > Root Shell. Then type knx-hdinstall and follow the easy instructions. If you are currently using windows with only one partition you will have to find a way of resizing your partitions, hdinstall can't do that yet.

2. I don't use it and can't help you.

3. Your in luck. The very latest release of Knoppix has support for your sound card. At the Boot: prompt type knoppix alsa.

4. see 5

5. su means super user. In a hard drive install of Knoppix or most other Linux distros you can use this to act like root even when you are loged in as a normal user. Because Knoppix has no passwords on CD you have two ways around this. In a regular shell, ever time you want to do something as root type sudo and then the rest of the command all on one line. A better way is to go to k > KNOPPIX > Root Shell. Then you can do anything without a password.

6. I haven't use WINE enough to help you here.

Dave_Bechtel
04-12-2003, 07:35 PM
--MattT answered most of your other questions; to access MSN/ICQ you can try running ' gaim '. Can't help you with WINE.

Eyz

Okey, I'm new with Knoppix and I've got many, many questions and I hope someone can help me. Here are the Questions:

1. How can i install Knoppix on my HD?
2. How can i use MSN/ICQ?
3. How can i use my soundcard; Soundblaster Audigy Player?
4. Knoppix keeps asking a password, but i don't know what it is; where can i find it?