PDA

View Full Version : Monitor/PC go into standby mode after a few minutes...

MasterRyu
04-27-2005, 04:01 PM
I recently updated the power supply in my HP a220n computer from the stock 250W to a more powerful 350W Mad Dog Multimedia SurePower power supply(350W nominal usage - 400W max) to ensure that a second hard drive added would have sufficient power. Windows detects the power supply fine, and shuts down/goes into standby mode and returns from it normally + has operated fine for some time, but for some reason Knoppix won't. It detects my hardware fine and everything, but after a small time using knoppix, the monitor displays the "entering power saving mode" message and goes into it's standby state - a state which cannot be returned from in Knoppix, forcing me to do a manual reboot. Has anybody else had this problem? Thank you in advance for any help you can provide, and I apologize if this post is excessively "n00bish", I am just starting out with Linux. Thanks for your time.

--EDIT--
Assuming anybody is actually reading this, you are probably tired of all the edits...but I am at my wits end. I have tried several different LiveCD distributions, ByzantineOS, Gentoo, etc., and all manner of command line codes, and all it gets me is maybe 30 or 45 seconds in the desktop before this !@#!@#!@# monitor claims the PC is going into standby mode (even though the power LED is not flashing, and the CD drive still shows activity, so I know the PC is still running normally), I really don't want to have to take this power supply out just to run Knoppix, it works fine with Windows, as does the monitor, and changing BIOS settings hasn't done anything. Any help would be GREATLY GREATLY appreciated. Is there anybody else on this forum that has the Pavilion mx703 monitor and has overcome this problem? ARRRRGH!!!

--EDIT--