PDA

View Full Version : Unable to connect to internet before and after hdinstall

cycopy
04-12-2003, 07:08 PM
Hello! I've heard much about knoppix, from friends and from my dad. When i bought the 38th issue of Linux Format, knoppix came with the dvd, and i decided to try it out. :wink:

Unfortunately, I'm unable to connect to internet, or use internet-services, like pinging other machines, and i cant figure out why. :(

:!: I am new to linux, and arent that familiar with configuration-files, where they are and so on. Though i have a few thoughts of what it might be:

:?:
1. Some of the configuration-files doesnt allow access to the internet (??)

2. My networkcard (realtek 8139/810x family fast ethernet NIC) isnt supported in the kernel (uses the module 8139too. It works well in kernel 2.2, but i have had problem with it in kernel 2.4)

3. Because of my router (D-link DI-604)

:!:
Like i said, Im not so familiar with the configuration-files. So if that is the problem, could you please tell me what files to look at, and maybe tell me what to edit.
When i used debian stable, i had problems with the network card when i tried the kernel 2.4. But it worked perfectly with kernel 2.2. May it be that my networkcard isnt supported in the default knoppix kernel, and do i have to recompile the kernel, and switch to kernel 2.2 again.
My router has never caused problems before, but you can never know? Added it just in case... :roll:

I hope someone know a way to solve my problem

see you around.. :D

rickenbacherus
04-12-2003, 09:52 PM
I'm not positive but I thought that NIC used the Tulip driver. Maybe you've already seen it but if not there is a netcardconfig tool in Knoppix as well. What driver did your NIC use in the 2.2 kernel?

DOH! try this too:

sudo modprobe 8139too

RockMumbles
04-12-2003, 11:28 PM
I get some errors on my systems with rtl8139 NIC's due to wanting an unavailable irq, but usually they will operate OK. They do use the 8139too module.