PDA

View Full Version : Blank HD Installation

BillinBoston
05-15-2005, 08:22 PM
Hi,
Our company gave away all its old computers, and I came home with a Dell Pentium II with 350 MHz and 128M of Ram. The hard disc was wiped clean...no Windows system, no partitions, no Fat32, no nothing...and so I thought it would be a perfect time to set up a Windows-free Linux machine.
I am running Knoppix 3.8.1 from the CD drive right now. The knoppix-installer looks straightforward enough, BUT...I have no idea how large the hard disc is, and before trying anything I thought I'd better ask, Is there a way to find out? If it's under 2 Gigs should I attempt the Poor Man's Installation? In which case I may need someone to hold my hand, because I am a complete newbie at this.
Thanks for your advice! --Bill

tdjokic
05-15-2005, 08:29 PM
Click on terminal icon, then type su+Enter, then cfdisk and try to make new partition, you will see the size of hdd.

BillinBoston
05-15-2005, 10:00 PM
Click on terminal icon, then type su+Enter, then cfdisk and try to make new partition, you will see the size of hdd.

Thanks for the reply. I did that and got

FATAL ERROR: Cannot open disk drive

Now what? I think Knoppix can at least see the hdd, because the installer was able to detect that there was no partition. --Bill

tdjokic
05-16-2005, 11:53 AM
I don't know what to say. Can you try with some Windows boot floppy or CD to make same test?

BillinBoston
05-16-2005, 05:10 PM
I don't know what to say. Can you try with some Windows boot floppy or CD to make same test?

I have a Windows 98 emergency floppy. When I boot up with it, the A:\ prompt blinks mindlessly. Maybe there's a DOS command that can communicate with the HDD and tell me its size?

The reason I haven't blundered ahead and just run the knoppix-installer is that I heard partitions can be hard to get rid of, and I didn't want to screw up the hard disc permanently.

--Bill

tdjokic
05-16-2005, 05:41 PM
fdisk ?

ChuckinColorado