PDA

View Full Version : Visor Deluxe Will Not Hotsync

binarybum
04-15-2003, 04:23 AM
Hi;

I am a Knoppix and Linux newbie. Just burned my Knoppix 3.2 CD this morning. I have an MSI nforce1 Nvidia chipset MB using onboard graphics. I was impressed at how well and fast this distro installed! Most of my hardware is recocgnized and functioning. Maybe there is hope to thwart Bill after all. Using no apic got my Logitech Optical USB Wheelmouse working (although without the wheel). My USB HP printer and USB IBM camera are also working. Nvidia Graphics and scsi zip and scanner also working well.
So far my only problem is my handspring Visor Deluxe (also USB). It will not sync with KPilot. I put in the correct user name. The log says the device is ready (or something similar) but then will not hotsync.

I also cannot eject the CD to use any of the burning tools. It is mounted and readable. I'm assuming this is because the OS needs the Knoppix CD to run and the burner tools are there for use after a HD installation.

Thanks..................BB

VeeDubb
04-15-2003, 04:30 AM
You can use those tools without hd-install, but it requires one of three things. Copying the ISO to your harddrive and software to mount it, copying the disk files to the HDD and doing a half-a$$'d install (good if you have limited space), or haveing a second drive. Most people I know with a CD burner also have a second reader, unless it's laptop.

I almost agree about giving Bill a scare. I think it'sa step in the right direction anyway. If they'd release the kernel source a .deb and improve the hd-install script, I't would definately be a MS chaser. Mandrake is just about as easy to install, AND the kernel source is available without trying to build it yourself, but of course, I can't get it to boot, so it's knoppix Win dual boot until I can get mandrake running.

Viro
04-15-2003, 09:30 AM