PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix can't read the hard disk filesystem type?

GuessWho
05-24-2005, 01:41 PM
Hey. I'm new to knoppix, got it a week ago. I've got a few problems though.

first, I can't access my harddrives. when i click ''Hard Disk (sda) /mnt/sda/", a box shows up:

"/dev/sda: Input/output error

mount: I could not determine the filesystem type, and none was specified

Please check that the disk is entered correctly."

Of course, It is entered correctly, since i also use windows. could this be the problem? I've read on the web about knoppix being able to read almost all disks. These are SATA Drives, and I am no hardware freak, so i do not really know anything about what SATA is, But could that be the problem? I think the filesystem is FAT32, if that could be the problem. also, i can click "Hard disk (sys) /sys/" but i get another box with the text:

"mount: only root can mount /sys on /sys

please check that the disk is entered correctly"

My other problem, (probably depending on this one) is that i can't save knoppix configuration. I've done it on a floppy disk, but when i type "knoppix myconfig=/mnt/auto/floppy", it makes an attempt to load the config, but it doesn't find the dir. and "knoppix myconfig=scan" doesn't work either, it won't find anything.

And, this is not necessary, But i'd like to have sound enabled... is it possible with a live-cd?

if you come up with an answer to these problems, please keep in mind that i cannot download any bigger files, since I'm using a 56k.

Please help a learning Newbie.

Thanks, GuessWho.

angor
05-25-2005, 06:30 AM
GuessWho,

I won't be able to fix your problems, but I'll try to provide some pointers, and perhaps others may weigh in with their opinions.

SATA problem: First of all, there is a problem with the drive name; it should not be sda but sdaX (X stands for a number, e.g.
sda1). sda is the device itself, not the filesystem on that device. Also, there are two mutually exclusive drivers for SATA