PDA

View Full Version : New to Linux

Stephenkent101
04-15-2003, 07:52 PM
Knoppix 3.2 has now KDE 3.1 and "persistant home" - a way to save
the configuration also on hd and USB-Memory-Sticks. :lol:

hello,
linux newbie here.. I have tried the installation onto HD as below.
short story about first tryout of Linux and installation

My first download of Linux .. Knoppix 3.2 Random choice from many
...lucky choice it seems.
3days later...(slow cable speed)
burned iso to disc using Nero
booted up.. all sound, video, disks, usb, cable modem etc. recognised 1st time.. so far so good. impressed!
used the many programs included ...nice and stable very professional
very impressed....wow useful stuff here. Im convinced
must load onto hard disc.. looked around forums... found method
then I used command line input as suggested to load onto hard disc.
sudo /usr/local/bin/knx-hdinstall
loaded on to my new 40GB disc 1st time..no problems
set up something called LILO to choose between Linux and Windows
everthing works ok.
The only real trouble was choosing the partitioning stuff. It was a bit confusing but I must have been lucky. The printer setup was very easy too.
Well done to all involved in this project from one with no Unix knowledge.
The only problem I am having now is that I am a bit confused about mounting and unmounting the drives under KDE.
many thanks again.
Stephen

Stephen
04-16-2003, 04:15 AM
The only problem I am having now is that I am a bit confused about mounting and unmounting the drives under KDE.
many thanks again.
Stephen

How are you trying to mount them from the desktop or the console and which drive(s)?

Stephenkent101
04-17-2003, 12:44 AM
many thanks again.
Stephen

How are you trying to mount them from the desktop or the console and which drive(s)?

Dear Stephen,
Mnay thanks for offer, I have found out how to do this now as have invested 15 quid in a linux book!