PDA

View Full Version : Don't have permission to read windows files

madscene
06-09-2005, 04:19 AM
I saw a posting on this here, but it didn't seem to resolve my issue. Let me first get it out in the open that I am a total Knoppix noob, and nowhere near a linux guru - having only some basic Unix/xWindows/Linux experience.

My windows xp pro machine died, wouldn't boot at all. Friends at my work recommended knoppix. I got knoppix up and running and was delighted to see it access my fried drive. Problem is, the data I need most, my user data in "documents and settings" has a lock icon and reads that it is 0 bytes. Other users that aren't my primary user do not have this and I can browse their data. I tried accessing as root, which removed the lock icon and let me "try" to change permissions, but it doesn't work (says I can't change permissions) and still says I lack permission to get in. I'm wondering if there is a way around this, or does this mean that data is corrupted? It seems strange - my "program files' folder has the same problem, but I can access a bunch of other (unfortunately unimportant to me) data on the drive. Only one partition is having this problem - the other is fully accessible, even by a windows machine if I load it as a slave drive.

Anyone know if I can get to this data?

Thanks!

Harry Kuhman
06-09-2005, 04:55 AM
My windows xp pro machine died, wouldn't boot at all. ..... I'm wondering if there is a way around this, or does this mean that data is corrupted? It seems strange - my "program files' folder has the same problem, but I can access a bunch of other (unfortunately unimportant to me) data on the drive. Only one partition is having this problem - the other is fully accessible, even by a windows machine if I load it as a slave drive.

Anyone know if I can get to this data?

Thanks!