PDA

View Full Version : No suitable X-server found? Please help

chomskyyy
06-18-2005, 12:23 AM
I am new to Knoppix, and have version 3.9. When I boot from the cd I get a boot screen. After hitting enter, some initializing and configuration takes place and at the bottom of the screen it says "no suitable x-server found for your card", and then sometimes goes to a gray screen with a large "X" for a mouse cursor and sometimes just halts at the error message. I have an nVidia Vanta graphics card, 1 GHz Athlon, 512 MB RAM. What can I do?

chomskyyy
06-18-2005, 09:34 PM
I've tried failsafe but can't get to KDE, and I've tried countless cheats all to no avail. I've reviewed the old posts on the same problem, but still can't resolve. Anybody?

Markus
06-18-2005, 10:26 PM
Try some of these: http://www.knoppix.net/wiki/Cheat_Codes
Perhaps something like: knoppix xmodule=nv screen=1280x1024 vsync=60 vga=791
(adjust the above according to your monitor)

chomskyyy
06-19-2005, 02:10 PM
Thank you, but still no go. I have a Sony Trinitron monitor, how can I determine the proper values for the vsync and vga parameters? I understand the vsync=60 is 60 hertz refresh which I think is fine, but how do I determine the vga value?

Markus
06-19-2005, 04:15 PM
Googling the monitor model should give you specs for refresh rates.
You could also try the fb1024x768 cheat instead of screen and xmodule=vesa or fbdev.
The vga value is for frame buffer resolution and color depth in console, try vga=normal also. Here's different values: http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?p=36801

gnukish
06-19-2005, 09:37 PM
Sorry for interrupption guys. This is an error caused because of a worn out/scratched cd.
I got the same error a while back. But when I burnt knoppix again to a new disk, it was heaven.

No such error will come if u have a good cd.

Some hints in my case:cloop error(cloop is a util used to decompress boot image)