PDA

View Full Version : netgear wg511t



squimmy
06-26-2005, 09:39 AM
Is it possible to run the wg511t under knoppix? should knoppix auto detect it or is there some configuration needed. Ive done a bit of searching on the forum but havent found anything for the wg511t.

Thanks.

fajitaburrito
09-14-2005, 05:07 AM
Is it possible to run the wg511t under knoppix? should knoppix auto detect it or is there some configuration needed. Ive done a bit of searching on the forum but havent found anything for the wg511t.

Thanks.

I too would like some help with setting up a WG511T card in knoppix. I am using an IBM r32 Thinkpad.

UnderScore
09-17-2005, 12:07 AM
I have the Netgear WG511T and it works very well with Linux (Knoppix, Suse 9.3, Ubuntu 5.04). These steps assume that there is no security or encryption. WEP or WPA must be turned off at the wireless router/access point.. Once you get it to grab an IP address successfully, THEN you can enable WEP or WPA.
Boot Knoppix 3.9 with the cheat codes:
knoppix dma acpi=off

Once it is has completed loading the KDE desktop, then open a command line konsole and make sure the WG511T is listed:
ifconfig -a
It should disply ath0 with no IP address info.

Next edit the netcardconfig script:
sudo kwrite /usr/sbin/netcardconfig

Find this line:
NETDEVICES="$(cat /proc/net/dev | awk -F: '/eth.:|tr.:|wlan.:/{print $1}')"

Add ath.: after the |
NETDEVICES="$(cat /proc/net/dev | awk -F: '/eth.:|ath.:|tr.:|wlan.:/{print $1}')"
Save the changes and exit Kwrite.

Then run netcardconfig:
netcardconfig

Choose the ath0 device and use DHCP. It should be successful.
Then check to see if it grabbed an IP Address:
ifconfig

If you want to get WEP or WPA working, then you will need to do some reading & enter more commands.
This continues from the Ndiswrapper guide at
http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net/mediawiki/index.php/Installation#Configure_interface: but does not use or require ndiswrapper. Its just a good source of info.

Configure interface:
Use iwconfig to configure wireless network interface. First, see if the interface is available, with:
iwconfig

This tool is not likely to be present on your system : it is part of the package (http://www.hpl.hp.com/personal/Jean_Tourrilhes/Linux/Tools.html), which you should install. This will print the wireless interface e.g., ath0. In the examples below ath0 is used replace ath0/wlan0 with the interface reported by iwconfig above.

You can scan for the Access Point using the command
iwlist ath0 scan

You may have to set the network name before it can scan & find your Access Point. If the scan does not find your AP, replace ESSID with *your* ESSID network name, then try issuing the command
iwconfig ath0 essid ESSID

before the using the command
iwlist ath0 scan

The wireless configuration to be used should match what your Access Point AP uses. First, find out if you can see your access point (AP) with
iwlist ath0 scan

If this lists your AP, you can continue. Otherwise, you may have one of two problems: Your AP doesn't broadcast SSID see the FAQ for more information or the radio of the card is off again, see the FAQ for details. If you see the AP in scan above, set the operating mode of the interface according to your setup. In most cases, it is Managed
iwconfig ath0 mode Managed

If you use encryption WEP, set the key:
iwconfig ath0 key restricted TheWEPKeyInHex

You can use 10 hex digits for 40-bit encryption or 26 hex digits for 128-bit encryption. You may need to use open security mode instead of restricted depending on the setup of your AP. If you want to write the key in ASCII use s: e.g. iwconfig ath0 key restricted s:password. Set the network name
iwconfig ath0 essid ESSID

Replace ESSID with the network name used by your AP.

At this point, check to make sure that ESSID is set in output of iwconfig ath0. If you see the ESSID as you set, you can proceed to next step. If you see ESSID: off/any, then your card is not associated to AP. Check if WEP encryption is set exactly as used by AP and the AP broadcasts ESSID. See FAQ for more details. Until ESSID is set in output of iwconfig ath0, you may not use ath0 as network interface.
Now, setup the network parameters for the interface ath0. This varies from distribution to distribution. Refer to your distribution's documents on how to do this. Once this is done, you can use network tools to bring up the network e.g.,


ifconfig ath0 upor
dhclient ath0or
dhcpcd ath0

OR
for Knoppix:

netcardconfig