PDA

View Full Version : NOT BOOTING

Matabus
06-26-2005, 11:48 PM
When I fix the bios to boot on CD ROM, I have the Knoppix CD in. I see the lights on the CDROM that means its reading it, but then after a while it just goes back to my windows boot page.

My Goal:
To run linux with Windows Xp.

Currently all space is allocated to Windows. I have partition magic so I can install linux. I have not partition the drive yet, but wanted to make sure the boot cd worked before i did.

I have 80gig harddrive. I want to try out linux, but I will mostly use windows. My idea of partition will be:
Primary Windows 75gigs
Linux 4gigs
Swap 400mb.

I am a total Linux Newbie so be easy on me :lol:

Harry Kuhman
06-27-2005, 01:37 AM
When I fix the bios to boot on CD ROM, I have the Knoppix CD in. I see the lights on the CDROM that means its reading it, but then after a while it just goes back to my windows boot page.
You don't say anything about how you made the CD. Did you follow the instructtions in the downloading faq (reached by the documentation link at the top of this page) and burn it as an image, and at a slow speed like 4x? If you downloaded from a mirror did you check the md5 sum? (This is very important, don't skip over it just because you don't recognize what md5 means.) My bet is that you just have one big iso file sitting on that CD, but people have found any number of ways to burn the ISO file incorrectly.

Matabus
06-27-2005, 02:23 AM
Actually, I burned it as an image on Alchol 120%. And the Linux Boot did come up a few times. After positng here I attempted again and again. Finally the Linux In Use Splash came up.

the line that was stuck was accesing cd ....

then my CD ROM started making loud Reading Sound. I left it for a while since my cd rom is kinda old its a 16x read, i figure it would take some time. But it didnt, I restart my comp and attempted to boot again, but failed went straight to my Windows.