PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix can't get to the Internet

username11
06-29-2005, 05:52 AM
Sorry, but I have another question.... Why can't I get onto the internet while using Knoppix. I tried searching for the answer, but none really helped. I know that you, Harry Kuhman, have said to get a router in many threads, but I already have a router... I am a complete noobie, so please help out.

Harry Kuhman
06-29-2005, 06:10 AM
I know that you, Harry Kuhman, have said to get a router....
Perhaps you could give us a little information?

You're using a wired connection, right?

What happens? Do you get any error? Can you tell us anything about your NIC? Tell us what ifconfig says. Tell us what happend when you so a netcardconfig.

What brand router? Does it have a feature that only lets certain MAC addresses access it, and do you have that enabled? If so turn it off and do anpther test.

I doubt if anyone will be able to offer more help unless you give a few details.

I'll give you time to reply, but I'm planning on splitting this off into it's own thread and moving it to the networking forum.

username11
06-29-2005, 06:37 AM
I'll try to be as specific as possible, but I don't know the answers to a lot of the questions you are asking.

I have a 2wire Home Portal 1000hg, which is wired. Usually a green light is on above the "local network" text, but when I use knoppix, that light isn't green or any other color. I don't get any error or anything, but when I try to use firefox or any other browser, it says it is unable to find any page.....

I don't know what "ifconfig", "netcardconfig", or "NIC" is, and I don't know if it my router has a feature that only lets certain MAC addresses access it.

This is my first day with Knoppix, so I really don't know anything, so thanks for being patient.

username11

Harry Kuhman
06-29-2005, 07:05 AM