PDA

View Full Version : Recover Files from NTFS

stevelw
07-06-2005, 03:40 PM
HI there.

I am a total beginner to any flavour of Linux and have turned to it to try nd solve a major problem. My laptop (an AJP D870P) currently runs Windows XP Professional and has recently trashed eother the boot sector of the disk or the root or the registry so I am unable to boot up - even in safe mode..

I have a Knoppix boot disc and the machine will run this quite happily and load the NTFS as a read-only filesystem. Using this I can view all the documents without any problem. My problem is that I need to get several documents off the machine onto another one before re-installing the operating system. I have a USB 2 512MB Memory Stick that Lnoppix recognises as a "USB Mass Storage Device", but I can't seem to find a way to write files to it.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks in desperation!

UnderScore
07-06-2005, 04:09 PM
Welcome to Knoppix.net.
First, if every newbie creates a new post with the subject line"Newbie seeks serious help" then we would have tons of useless non-descriptive subject lines. Over time, these useless subjects would not only foul up the search engine but ultimately make the forums less helpful for newbies. A better subject line would be "Recover files from NTFS drive" or "Copy files from NTFS drive to USB flash drive." You can edit your original post to change the subject line. See also http://www.knoppix.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=16574 for more info on posting & subject lines.

As for your request for help, does a icon appear on the desktop for the USB device? If so you may have to enable rea/write access to the USB device by right clicking on the desktop icon and under properties, unchecking the READ ONLY option.

stevelw
07-06-2005, 04:31 PM
Hi Underscore

Fair point about the topic - I've changed it as you suggested.