PDA

View Full Version : How do I change window managers



winowman
12-27-2002, 03:53 AM
I have hd installed and would like to change window managers due to lack of alot of memory on a system I am using it on. but I wanna be able to change window managers often.. not edit some file could anyone tell me how to load a lower memory hungry manager....?? that will still let my wine stuff work.. (some of my window programs need more memory too )

12-27-2002, 12:45 PM
use kdm

Tech2k
12-27-2002, 04:10 PM
If you are booting the cd and not on a hdd install of Knoppix try hitting F2 at bootup and typing in a cheatcode to start another window manager besides Kde.I use fluxbox but recomend that you try icewm.At the boot prompt try typing "knoppix desktop=icewm" then hit ENTER.

winowman
12-28-2002, 03:33 PM
So once my linux boots up and I login and am at my promp

instead of " startx " I would type " KDM "?!

winoman
12-29-2002, 05:47 AM
KDM..

Ok.. I know that there is a graphical kdm but I made mine boot without graphical login. so I login what is it I type to change window manager?!!

Or

What config file do I have to modifiy to make a difrent window manager Come up?!

tuxtom
01-22-2003, 11:10 AM
Try startx -e icewm (or your preferred wm)

tom