PDA

View Full Version : Knoppix not functional

Capt. Cautious
07-13-2005, 12:37 AM
Good Day Folks;
I am a relative newbie to knoppix & Linux. I am a doctor by profession so computers while I enjoy them are not my forte. I have been enjoying my experience with knoppix up until the 3.8 & 3.9 distros. Let me start with some background. I have a HP ze4500 and had not been able to get any version of Knoppix to reach the Internet. With the advent of the Union FS on 3.8 i finally was able to reach the net and enjoy the main reason for which I wanted knoppix, anonymous browsing. Nothing illegal I just like my privacy. This way I can use the work system ( dsl) w/o creating problems.
Then with 3.8 eventually the disk would not work right, not seeing the i-net, not consistently seeing or accessing the usb drives the impossibility of it ever seeing the knoppix image & config.tbz on th usb drives, and the change to /mnt/uba rather than /dev/sda and so on. I thought that I'd possibly damaged the disk. So I burned a new one from th original iso, same problem immediately. I downloaded and verified a new .iso. Burned it and again it worked fine for about four to five uses or so and went back to the same problems. NEXT::