PDA

View Full Version : Everything is detected, but Knoppix still doesn't load

Electric Blah
07-18-2005, 01:58 AM
Knoppix goes through and it says .. done on everything. In the places where it needs to know what type of drivers you have or how much memory you have available everything is filled out. After this, it says

starting init process.
INIT: 2.78 - knoppix booting

It just stops there and I can type in characters. I waited there for about ten minutes and nothing happened. Sorry if this is an obvious question, this is my first time using Knoppix. I have an Intel Celeron M Processor 330 and it is a Compaq Presario if that helps.

nuB71705
07-18-2005, 02:43 AM
i've got a very similar computer and it seems this problem is kind of related to my situation. let me know how you got yours to work and what cheatcode you used so i can try that also. try 'failsafe' mode, but that option for my situation won't let me browse the web when linux loads.

Electric Blah
07-18-2005, 08:25 PM
Alright, I tried failsafe mode and it completely loaded. I forgot to mention in my first post I'm using a laptop. When Knoppix loaded my touchpad was messed up and my mouse wouldn't work because failsafe doesn't dectect anything. Either way, it loaded and that was a good thing. I then tried it again with a couple cheats, not including failsafe, and it would get all the way down to this one line which was

network device eth0 detected, DHCP broadcasting for IP

that's where it gets stuck now. All I typed in was (without the quotes) "knoppix wheelmouse lang=us" They were really basic ones and I didn't expect it to load but it got all the way to the line mentioned above. Now, for some reason, I can load it without using any cheats and it will get all the way down to the same line. Everything before it is dectected fine. Anybody have any suggestions? Thanks!

I am also connected to a wireless router... wirelessly! It is a Netgear wireless router MR814v2

ockham23
07-18-2005, 09:34 PM