PDA

View Full Version : Copying CDs

A. Jorge Garcia
12-27-2002, 08:35 PM
I have a re-mastered CD with Java SDK 1.4.1 installed. I would like to make an ISO copy of it so its easy to burn multiple copies. How would I go about this?

Tech2k
12-28-2002, 05:57 PM
Humm...theres a few ways to do it but try "apt-get install cdrtoaster" and once installed click the button that says "do tricks" :wink:

Breetai
12-28-2002, 06:19 PM
Use mkisofs command.

mkisofs -l -r -J -V "KNOPPIX-with-java" -hide-rr-moved -v \
-b /mnt/kdev/master/KNOPPIX/boot-en.img \
-c /mnt/kdev/master/KNOPPIX/boot.cat \
-o ~/knoppix-java.iso
/mnt/kdev/master

The important thing to note above, is that I am acting like the directory where you have mastered you new KNOPPIX system is in /mnt/kdev/master.

If this is the case, then the following holds true -b is where the boot image files is. -c is where the boot catalog is at. -o is the path/name of where to output the iso image to and the last item with no option before it /mnt/kdev/master is the directory where the files that you want to burn to the CD exist at.

I hope this is helpful.

Also, I would LOVE to get a copy of this CD, or could you tell me what you had to drop to make room for JAVA?

Tech2k
12-28-2002, 06:45 PM
Heres a few things you might want to remove to make room to add your own apps.
kde-i18n* will remove all languages but english and free abour 105meg of hdd space.
xfonts-intl-chinese,japanese and european
asc,rocks-n-diamonds,nethack,freeciv are some of the big games.
either k-office or open office (do you really need both) OO takes about 209meg.
all irc clients except xchat
all cdburner gui apps but for xcdroast.
isdn*
gnome* if you use kde (gnome takes about 76meg)
festival
lyx

Basicly you just go thru the menus and say "do I need this" and apt-get remove whatever.Be sure if you remove some stuff to say "deborphan" and then dpkg -P anything that shows up.

A. Jorge Garcia
12-29-2002, 02:04 AM