PDA

View Full Version : How can I do a system restore on XP Home through knoppix?

mikesuth18
08-08-2005, 02:10 AM
Is this possible? I'll add details to the problem later tonight, but this is what I need to figure out if I can do it or not.

Thanks,
-Mike

foamrotreturns
08-08-2005, 07:36 AM
You won't be able to do a "system restore" in the Windows sense. The actual system restore utility is built into windows and is proprietary. You can rescue files and settings off your windows partitions with knoppix, however.

mikesuth18
08-08-2005, 08:27 AM
I'm not an expert with knoppix or windows by any means, although I do know enough to know what most people are talking about.

I think that I am on the right forum and if I'm not, please tell me.
This is on an '04 HP Pavillion laptop that I've got:
Windows XP Home
Intel P4 2.8ghz
integrated video/sound
256mb ram

Now go figure that I cannot get it to boot 2 months after the warranty expired... When I boot up the computer, I get a "blue screen error" right after the Windows screen with the status bar comes up. It reboots to quickly for me to read what exactly it is saying. If I put the restore disk in, I can get to a command prompt but no Windows OS. I cannot get a directory list, nor can I switch between folders, only drives.

I was able to download Knoppix 3.9 and save most important documents, but would rather not reformat the HDD. I know that the information on the disk is still there, but "windows" doesnt.
Example:
I type in:

c:\> cd ..
or
c:\>cd windows

it tells me that it is an invalid folder... (yet i can view it in knoppix though)

Something has happened. There has been no file sharing what-so-ever, honestly, going on on this computer.
I was hoping that I can set some type of system restore to like a month ago or something.

Anyone have any ideas?
Thanks for your assistance :)
-Mike

camorri
08-12-2005, 09:11 PM