PDA

View Full Version : Successful HDD install, root access?

wishkah
08-09-2005, 06:14 PM
I recently installed Knoppix onto one of my machines. It was successful. Im really new to linux im curious about root privileges. I realized that in /etc/apt/sources.lst there are specific updates. I wanted to add the deb and deb-src for a Wine HQ install. When i open the file in kedit and add the lines that works great, but when i try to save it a message pops up and tells me either i dont have the privileges or i dont have enough space. Space isn't the issue.

Basically im trying to ask, is there a way to give yourself full root access using the GUI without using the shell?
Or, if there isnt a way, how do i open source.lst in a text editor from the shell once im logged in as root?

I did try typing "nano /etc/apt/sources.lst" but it doesnt recognize the command.
Is there a shell command for kedit? or any other text editor?

maxIT
08-09-2005, 08:02 PM
Basically im trying to ask, is there a way to give yourself full root access using the GUI without using the shell?
Or, if there isnt a way, how do i open source.lst in a text editor from the shell once im logged in as root?

I did try typing "nano /etc/apt/sources.lst" but it doesnt recognize the command.
Is there a shell command for kedit? or any other text editor?

As I know 'nano' isn't isntalled in knoppix. You can type another gui editor instead of nano in shell with root privileges, or a full shell editor as "vi /etc/apt/sources.lst", but this is very tricky for newbies.
I'm not sure and maybe I'm sayng a stupid thing, but while knoppix is based on debian, seems to me that last debian releases (and so last knoppix releases) don't make possible to acess at gui environment with root account.

UnderScore
08-09-2005, 08:45 PM
You don't have to use a shell for all tasks but you most likely so have to run 1 command.

From a non-root user account, edit a text file with KDE's Kate as root:
kdesu kate /path/to/file.txt